Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2012, 08:04 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Long Time Pentax Guy, New to DSLR

Hi All-
Nice to find you here. My name is Jamie and I've been shooting Pentax film cameras since 1983. I still regularly use a K-1000 I got in 1985. I'm not a professional by any means and, as much as I'd like to be, am not naive enough to think I'm going to support a family by changing careers at the age of 45. I'm finally giving in to technology and going with a DSLR. Film, chemicals and spare time are just getting too hard to find. Still, I'm a decent enough photographer to want quality.

Over the last 25 years, I've amassed a good bit of Pentax gear. I'm pretty far entrenched to switch brands (thanks to the k-mount). Besides that fact, I love Pentax equipment and probably always will.

Here's where you come in. My photography is purely for my enjoyment. Most of my shots will never see print. I want a versatile camera that is easy to lug around. We are pretty active and I want to use it anywhere from ski trips to vacations to hiking in the woods to shooting pics at the ball field. I'm especially fond of nature and outdoor photography, so that is a consideration. I want to be able to catch wildlife in motion.

I don't necessarily need the newest thing on the market. I don't think a mirrorless version will work because I shoot just enough motion to make it impractical. The K-r seems to be a good size, but but I don't know if it's rugged enough. I'm worried the K20 may be too cumbersome but the price is awesome. The K-5 is still a bit pricey for my needs but I may have to bite the bullet. The K-7 is where I'm inclined, but it seems to be holding it's value and for only a little more I could get the K-5.

I'd love to hear input and opinions from the people in the know, especially if you have similar circumstances or photography style.

Thanks in advance.

Jamie

04-07-2012, 09:41 AM   #2