Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2012, 01:40 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Hola from Buenos Aires, Argentina!

Hi everyone,

After over a year of being a regular reader of this forum, I've finally registered so I can start posting. I've probably already been a little overzealous with back to back posts on the FA Limited and DA* lens clubs. What can I say? Sorry, I'm just excited to be here and I'm trying to make up for lost time.

Some history about my photographic and Pentax journey:
I'm fairly new to photography but am going at it with as much gusto as I can. My brother, a Canon shooter, got me infected with the shutter bug a few years ago. I had a strong interest in photography but the idea of spending serious dough on a camera seemed odd to me at first. I started researching DSLRs and continued doing so for over a year before an itchy finger that was finally ready to pull the trigger. It got to where I couldn't reach any other conclusion than the K-5 being the only choice for me at a price point I was willing to cough up and pay for. The K-5 had all the key features that I knew I wanted: weather sealing, somewhat diminutive size, good ergonomics, solid metal body, fast burst rate, 100% viewfinder, customizable exposure settings, front and rear e-dials, use of SD card, mostly logical menu system, and of course most important of all, great image quality. I tried the D7000 and 60D in local stores but neither did it for me. I even toyed around with the idea of getting an Olympus PEN being that I kind of like the styling of Olympus's micro 4/3 cameras, but I knew I wouldn't be satisfied with the small sensor size and lens options, let alone no weather sealing. It had to be Pentax's K-5 for me.