Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2012, 11:59 AM   #1

Canon Shooter On the Edge of Switching

Hi all!

I'm Mike from Boston, MA (USA). I've been a reader of the site now for a few weeks but I decided to register today. Iím hoping to get some advice/feedback from Pentax users. Hereís my storyÖ

I've been a Canon shooter for most of my life but I'm seriously considering selling everything and switching to Pentax. Am I crazy? Yeah, a bit...but I have my reasons. I've been an avid photographer for about 12 years now. I've had several paid jobs but I've decided that I enjoy photography much more as a hobby than a job. For me, stress and photography do not mix well. Anyway, I spend most of my time shooting on the street, traveling or shooting some type of still life photography. I really like my Canon kit (see below) except for two major issues, size and weight. I find myself leaving my kit at home more and more simply because I do not want to lug around my gear. It is a lovely kit and Iím lucky to have the gear that I do, but I like to travel light. How light you ask? Well, I just came back from an 8 day cruise and I managed to get everything into a carry-on bag.Yes, my wife and friends were impressed.

A few months back I saw a review on one of the Pentax Limited lenses and I was really blown away. I didnít think the laws of physics would allow for a lens that small to fit on a DSLR. In addition to the lenses, Iíve read several rave reviews about the K-5 and now that it has come down in price, it seems like it would be a solid option for me. I know I will be sacrificing on a few things by switching to a K-5 kit with Limited lenses (no full frame, no ultra fast glass, etc.), but I think I will quickly forget about them when I have an ultra-light and compact kit that I can take anywhere.