Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2012, 06:38 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Hello from a Newbie

Hello everyone! Just thought I would register and pop in to say hello. I will try to frequent the forms as much as I can. I have been looking at some of your photos on the forum and wow!!! I am very impressed!

Now a little about me... I am brand new to DSLR photography. I took some classes on photography many moons ago (like in junior high school) but have not taken photos really since then. Back then it was 35mm film only. The only pictures I've taken since were the point and shoot kind. Given I have some cool point and shoot shots from numerous islands and about 30 countries

I have always loved photography though but until now I never got into it as I would have liked.

I have recently invested in my very first DSLR camera. After a LOT of deliberation I have settled on a Pentax K-5. It is en-route to my home right now. (hurry up UPS guy!!!)

I have 3 lenses that I got to accompany my K-5 (so far)...and they too are on the way.

I am one step above a rank amateur in that I am a rank amateur who has read a bunch of books about photography. The bookstore's stock spiked when I started buying photography books....In other words I have been reading for well over 6 months (at least) before I ever spent a nickel on actual camera equipment. Its more like a year and six months to be honest...

Eventually I might invest in some higher end lenses, but before I do that I think it best to learn my way around first.

My camera fixation started as a kid (really) but about 2 Christmases ago my old faithful point and shoot bit the dust and I got another camera given to me as a present. My old pointer and shooter became victim to some sand dunes somewhere in Africa and then the flash just went kaput.