Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2012, 07:49 AM   #1

Thinking about a Pentax...

Hi, my name is Mat Draper.

I've been using various Lumix cameras for many years, but I'd like to step up image quality and learn a little more about cameras and photography. I have a 'significant' birthday coming up, so I'm thinking about treating myself to some decent hardware. As far as I can tell, a DSLR is still generally a better bet than micro four-thirds etc. for absolute image quality. And it looks to me as though Pentax provide good price/performance (and some extra toys like HDR).

I'd like to start with a couple of lenses - I'm guessing an 'everyday' zoom for countryside wanderings, and a decent prime for portraits and family gatherings etc. I'm a DSLR beginner - so I don't want to spend ages setting up before a shot, but equally I'd like the choice to tweak and learn as I go along.

So I'm currently thinking:

Pentax K-5 body
Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD IF
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

Any comments or suggestions welcome!
Many thanks,
-Mat

06-24-2012, 09:34 AM   #2