Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2012, 09:14 AM   #1

Greetings... I am the autistic werewolf... New to photography using pentax r5 camera!

Hello everyone I am a complete newbie when it comes to photography as a hobby. I am in Information Technology as a profession so taking pictures will just be something I do to provide pleasure in my life. I have autism so my questions my sound very odd and basic when I need help. I have started taking pictures with my K5 and love it already. I am using auto focus a lot but slowly doing some focusing myself. I have photoshop elements 10 and will likely buy Lightroom 4 soon as I have the money saved. I just spent over $3,500.00 on a Pentax camera and 3 nice lenses, photography books, lots of basic accessories and more. I am pleased with my Pentax K5 camera. Only gripe I have about Pentax so far is the cheap plastic lens mounting's that are part of certain lenses. The K5 camera is designed tough like a battle hardened a warhorse instead of some cheap plastic garbage. The K5 while taking some getting used to is easy to use once you get the hang of its controls. I took my first totally awesome picture using a Pentax telephoto lens. Using a Pentax 55mm x 200mm lens from my balcony 14 miles away, I captured Downtown Baltimore City sitting peacefully and beautifully on a carpet of trees. This was my first picture in JPG format with this quality K5 camera and I was so totally impressed. I have now figured out how to set for both RAW and JPEG so I am starting on Post Production Editing using Adobe Photoshop Elements 10. So far I am loving this whole photography experience. I am not good enough to share any of my photos yet but someday soon I will be. I love my picture of Baltimore so much I have it as a desk top on all my computers at home and will soon have it on my work computer as well.