Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-01-2012, 09:44 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Long time Pentax user, new forum user

Hi folks,

I've been using Pentax gear for 35 years. Considering I'm 42, that's not bad at all ;-) My father's camera was a ME Super which I used almost until the year 2000 when I bought my own MZ-7/ZX-7 with a 28-105 lens. I've used them both up until the present days. I've added a 70-300 Sigma zoom during that time.

I've also been using Pentax DSLRs for a number of years (2006) when I bought a *ist-DS2 (using the same lens as for the MZ-7). In 2008 I bought a K200D with a kit lens which I used up until now. I added a Pentax DA70-300 a couple of years ago. My last acquisition was a Tamron 17-50 2.8 a couple of months ago. What a great value! I've been very happy all these years with my equipment.

One of the many things I like about the Pentax photography equipment is that it's usually very good value with lots of features. IE the weather sealing and backward compatibility of the bodies with the older lenses.

Lately I've been looking at the K-5, then the K-30 but I'm now anxiously waiting for Pentax's next DSLR release. I read rumours of a 24 or even 30 mega pixels K-5 replacement and I've decided not to take the plunge for the K-30, hoping that the new camera will be even more interesting (Even though more expensive).

Anyway, apart from talking about gear, I'm an everyday shooter. I take a lot of pics when travelling and I've been thankful for the weather sealing on many occasion when, while fishing, we were caught in the rain. Other than that I like Macro and landscape photography.

Hope we can discuss topics (even though I am the usual shy lurker on forums) and maybe meet sometimes in the Montreal/south-shore area.

Happy shooting!
Marc-Antoine

08-01-2012, 11:27 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter