Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2012, 07:37 AM   #1

Newby

Hi I am a newby and very keen to learn. I would like to know how to set my x90 to be able to take pictures of water drops of water and waterfalls. Hope some advice comes my way Thanks SheilaI

08-16-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Giveaway winner!

Photos: Albums
Are you looking to make the water look frozen in space or allow the movement to seem milky?

Freezing it still is a "action" or "sport" mode

It may be best if you use the manual setting or set the speeds and let the camera do the rest (Tv mode).

Tv mode will let you choose the speed. To freeze action, select speeds greater than 1/125. To let movement blur, select speeds slower than 1/30.
08-16-2012, 12:37 PM   #3

Original Poster
MysteryOnion

Thanks for your reply

The water would be milky for the waterfalls not sure for the drops I am a complete novice. Sorry
08-16-2012, 02:07 PM   #4
Giveaway winner!

Waterfalls are comprised of drops and the light that reflects from those and the shimmery surfaces would look nice as a 'long exposure'.

Called "painting with light"... is a form of photography where you leave the shutter open as long as possible... longer than a second.

This would give a smooth milky looking water fall as well as anything else is moving.

The thing is, you may have way too much light and so the camera would not be able to 'compensate' the 'exposure' and give you the full second or more.

One trick is to get a 'neutral density filter'... sort of sunglasses for cameras. The idea is to reduce the light that the camera would see and then allow for exposure times to be greater than a second. Consider ND2 or ND4 or more, but this means also a need for a tripod to steady camera and keep stationary subjects as still as possible otherwise have a blurry mess... unless you are looking to experiment with that.

08-16-2012, 02:40 PM   #5

Original Poster