Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2012, 12:19 PM   #1

Happy New Pentax User

Greetings,

My name is Keith Hatfull and I like in Woodbury, MN with lovely wife and three usually lovely kids By trade Iím a computer network consultant and I work for smaller companies who donít have a need for full-time staff. Iím basically, helpdesk, network admin, purchasing, etcÖwhatever needs to be done from a technology standpoint.

I find my way here for a few reasons:
  1. I decided to leave Olympus 4/3 (and of course did so right before it was announced the E-5 was in fact going to have a replacementÖ)
  2. I shoot mostly macro so APS-C is the largest sensor I really want to deal with, just for the EFL increase. In deciding where to do the K-5 won outÖDR, ISO, everything about the K-5 told me it was ďthe oneĒ. Nor do I think there should be any more than 16MP on an APS-C sensor...but that's just me.
  3. I VERY much appreciate, and never previously understood fully, how much Pentax has supported their film/manual users in the digital world. While I donít seem myself using M-lenses regularly (ok, so Iím a wimp and donít want to deal with stop down metering ) Iím certainly fine with manual focus and plan to check out the wide array of fine A primes available.
Point three above actually means a lot. Not only did Pentax do everything possible to fully integrate their film users the K mount opens up just an astonishingly wide array of options when it comes to lenses. Iím finding it quite exciting.

In addition to coming from Olympus, prior to that I was a Canon user: original Digital Rebel, 20D, 30D, 5DÖthe 5D is what went when I moved to Olympus.

My initial planned kit is as follows:

K-5 (received today!)
Tamron 17-50/2.8 (in transit)
Tamron 90/2.8 (hopefully VERY soon).
Tamron 70-200/2.8 (hopefully soon as well)