Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2012, 09:04 PM   #1

Back in the viewfinder again

I've just acquired my first DSLR and I'm finding myself falling in love with photography all over again. I was an avid photographer for many years, shooting with manual focus Minolta gear in the '80s and '90s. My interest in photography waned with the death of film in the early 2000s and I just never warmed to digital point-n-shoots. I was always frustrated with their limitations and my tendency to over-think their capabilities. The few times I used others' DSLRs, I knew that's what I wanted, but I've never really been able to justify the cost until I scored a Pentax *ist DL on eBay this week. It came with the 18-55mm zoom lens and all of its original accessories in the original packaging--including all of the little baggies. The only indicator that it wasn't factory fresh is the protective film had been removed from the top and rear display screens. My luck continued a day or two later when I found a Sigma UC 70-210mm zoom in decent used condition for $15 and a Pentax auto focus dedicated flash model for an old Quantaray flash I've had sitting around here for about 12 years or so. All together, it makes a pretty nice starter kit for well under $200.

I'm still learning the ins and outs of my new gear and really enjoying its intuitive interface and the degree of control it offers. Sure, it's only 6 megapixels, but for my modest needs and budget, it's a wonderful gateway back into 'real' photography. I fell like I've come home after being away for far too long.

08-25-2012, 10:00 PM   #2

Hope you are happy with it.Since you used manual lens you might be ab able to find a couple cheap primes locally
08-26-2012, 12:13 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery