Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-02-2012, 07:19 PM   #1

Old Pentax shooter from western WA, new to forum

Just saying "hi" (the "first post" thing).
I've been shooting Pentax since 1984. The first 15 years full manual with just a K1000, 95% with just a 50mm lens (US, Philippines, Australia, Saudi Arabia, ... it got around). I finally got a fancy automatic camera at the beginning of 2000 for a whirl-wind European trip where I knew I would not have time for careful composition. I was short on funds, so just got the entry level ZX-30 with a 28-200 super-zoom. After getting spoiled by automatic functions, I had hoped to move up to the ZX-S once it came out, but then the digital age hit the SLR. However, I vowed to not buy a DSLR until until resolution could match my Nikon film scanner. (I decided to wait until they surpassed 10MP). So I stayed where I was and finally dived into DSLR when the K20D came out, along with getting the 16-50mm DA*, and a Sigma 170-500 zoom. (still used the old manual 50mm though!, plus a off-brand 70-200 macro, though not a very good lens).
I added a couple more lenses along the way, and recently upgraded to K-5 when the price dropped.

I am primarily an enthusiast / hobbyist and have a fair number of related toys I like to experiment with (extension tube set, filters, various flashes, etc.)

Some things I would love to experiment with include tilt/shift lens (but expensive!), but the more I see that can be done with S/W the more I wonder about the future of actual photography. The skilled photoshop user taking a mediocre photo and making it look like a photo that used to take special equipment and photographic skill to produce.