Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2012, 12:56 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Migrated from Canon

Recently switched to Pentax - loving the decision to have done so. Shot Canon for years. I'm not a pro, nor do I strive to be (enough people already) I simply make photos. - I work at a camera shop and have access to a great deal of used gear so I tend to get my hands on things I wouldn't normally even consider.

I do mainly Astrophotography with Modified Canon cameras. Within the last couple of years, really branched out to landscape and scenery. Pentax seems to fit just about every aspect, known or unknown, of my needs. I feel like I finally have a tool that will allow me to create what I envision. Looking forward to building up a lens collection and pushing the K-5 as far as I can.

The accompanying shot was from this past Sunday.

Pentax K-5 with Quantaray 24mm f/.2.8
Tiffen 870nm Infrared Filter - 67mm
1 x 30s ISO400 @ f/5.6

Attached Images

11-13-2012, 01:03 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Welcome to PF and thanks for your post! J
11-13-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Jeese, another guy with access to lenses I've never even heard of...

Welcome to the forum.... that's a fantasitic opening picture... you're setting your standard very high...it's going to be hard to keep it up.

Last edited by normhead; 11-13-2012 at 01:48 PM.
11-13-2012, 01:36 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote
Jeese, another guy with access to lenses I've never even heard of...
Quantaray lenses were usually just rebadged Sigma or Tamron lenses. It was the Ritz Camera store brand...

This guy could be our new RioRico. @neuropol, do you have a dremel?

11-13-2012, 03:59 PM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks, all. The comments are much appreciated. Hopefully will be able to keep my standards high here!