Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2006, 12:02 PM   #1

Another new member!

Hi all - I read about this site on the dpreview Pentax Talk, which I read about on the dpreview Panasonic Talk forum... Not sure where I heard about that. Anyhow, I started into digital with a Sony (ugh) 3.5" 'floppy' camera and moved from there to an Olympus D500L, then a E100RS, then into a Panasonic FZ10. That lead me to the FZ20 & 30 and then to the TZ1 and a FZ1. The new FZ50 specs didn't thrill me so when I read of the K10D I started reading the dpr Pentax posts and decided that the Ist DL would be a good place to start. More reading on the Pentax Talk forum led me to this forum and I liked what I saw so joined. I hope it's a long association.

09-20-2006, 12:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Welcome!

I'm new to the Pentax world myself, having received about 2 hours ago my K100D. I have much to learn.
09-20-2006, 12:53 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by MPrince Quote
Welcome!

I'm new to the Pentax world myself, having received about 2 hours ago my K100D. I have much to learn.
Thanks, and welcome your self. I used Pentax film cameras and Panasonic digitals for years, but the ist DL is my first DSLR. It should be great after I get up on the learning curve... I need to get the mode dial under my belt! It seems to be the key to getting the exposure right. If the K100D will be your primary camera, the SR will be a God Send.
09-20-2006, 01:08 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome Tom
I got a DL which I am very happy with. In the beginning I played with the mode dials but now it is either the P or the manual that I use. I also shoot all my photos in raw instead of JPEG. It gives me much better control over the end result and it is easier with the white balance. I am sure you will be happy with the DL.

Cheers

Eddie

09-20-2006, 01:27 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tswill2 Quote