Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 10 Likes Search this Thread
01-09-2013, 11:56 AM - 3 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Nikon to Pentax Story!! How I became a Pentaxian!!

I am an Engineer living & working in Holland. I consider myself as serious hobbyist Photographer. I bought my first DSLR, the Nikon D3000 with kit lens in mid 2010. At that time, I was completely new to DSLR photography and I was happy with the “Green” button. Even with green mode, my pictures were way better than my canon power shot, but lacked that “professional” look. I started reading lot of articles in the internet about photography, like how to take better pictures…etc. I slowly graduated to Program mode then to Av, Tv and reached M and still continue reading and experimenting.

A year passed with my D3000, I started thinking that the camera was limiting w.r.t its poor high ISO capabilities and the slow kit lens. Then, the search for upgrade started. At that time, I firmly believed that costly, high end cameras make better picture. So, I short listed Nikon D700 with 50 1.4 G, and started reading lots of reviews about it. I also checked 5d mark II. Enjoyed the arguments of canon & Nikon fan boys in the forums. From my own research, I come to a conclusion that, Nikon makes good cameras and canon good lenses. By the time, I was also addicted to canonrumors.com, bythom.com and mansurovs.com etc,.