Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2013, 02:05 PM   #1

K-01 adaptability

Hello,
I am new to the Pentax forum, though I have been reading the discussions for years. I currently have 2 Pentax digital cameras--a K100D (with 16-45 and 50-200 lenses) and a point-and-shoot Optio A30. In addition, I have several Pentax film bodies with 24mm, 28mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm, 100mm, 135mm and 200mm Pentax-M lenses. (Plus a Tokina 400mm lens which I use for birding and at sporting events.).

Currently, I am looking into buying a new dslr. I have tried the K-30 and the K-5, however, due to budget limitations and its slightly smaller size, I am thinking of buying a K-01 instead. (Which is not a dslr at all!) I have 3 questions for K-01 users: 1) How "weatherproof" is the K-01? Similar to a K-x or my K100d or not as solid as that? (I know it is not truly weatherproof, I just want to understand its build quality.) 2) How well does the autofocus system work? I've read many complaints, though several people think the latest software update has improved the K-01 in this area. 3)Most photographs taken with the K-01 seem to be taken with the 40mm lens. How well do you think the K-01 would work with a 50-200 lens or with my manual focus Pentax-M lenses? Do other lenses balance reasonably well with the K-01?

Any thoughts would be appreciated,
thanks.

01-22-2013, 11:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
It's equal or better build quality than my K-x, and the autofocus is a billion times better. The K-x has much, much faster autofocus, but that doesn't matter one iota, because it's not accurate autofocus. With fast lenses especially, it misses focus all the damn time. With my K-x, I would often use the shotgun approach, taking multiple shots of the same subject, in the hopes that one of the shots would have perfect focus.