Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2013, 08:42 PM   #1

I'm new - hello!

I've been lurking for a couple of months and learning a great deal. Finally got tired of the "you haven't posted on the forum yet" banner!
Okay, so here I am. I had an old Honeywell Pentax film camera that I saved up and bought when I graduated from high school. Loved that camera and got amazing pictures all around the world for about 15 years. Then I gave it to a student while teaching in another country doing missions work. (I'm from the US). Missed my camera, but never regretted!

So, I downsized to a compact 35mm film Samsung. After I had kids, it finally fell off the counter one too many times and bit the dust. So we "upgraded" and "downsized" to our first digital camera, a Pentax Optio back when the top o' the line (in my price range) was 6 mega pixels!

Well, once I had a smart phone, that was equal to the task, I quit carrying the Optio altogether. (Battery wasn't holding a very long charge after 6 or 7 years and hey! my phone is always in my back pocket!)

Now that all my pictures from the last 2 to 3 years have been taken with my phone, I found myself really yearning for a real camera again. I researched a lot of different cameras, and almost went with a couple of other brands. Then just before I bought one of them, I happened across a review for the K-01. I was intrigued. The more I read about it, the more I liked it. Of course, there was no place to see it and feel it. I'd have to order it online. I went to some stores and played with the other cameras and didn't like any of them.