Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-18-2013, 08:14 AM   #1

New

Hello
I'm new to this and I am also a newly proud owner of an digital k-r pentax. But I don't have a clue about lens. I mainly just wanted a good camera for taking pictures of my kids doing everyday activites. The camera came with a 18-55mm but it is not nearly what I need. I need something for awesome close ups. Are there any other brands of lens that are compatible with this camera? Thanks for the input.

Erica

02-18-2013, 03:27 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum Erica, good to have you with us. If you wish to do close-ups of your dogs & kids you'll need a good sharp and fast lens.I would suggest the Sigma 105mm F2.8 Macro which apart from being an excellent Macro lens doubles as a very good and sharp portrait lens and at F2.8 is very fast.

02-19-2013, 06:22 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It depends on how close you want to be to the subject. If you like insects which typically don't like a big object close to them, go for the 90mm+ macros. If you want tight shots of close subjects, the 28-50mm range is best. If you don't know, maybe the 50mm range will be good.

Most true macro lenses (not zooms) will be good.

I have a Sigma 28mm f1.8 macro and a Pentax FA100mm macro.
02-19-2013, 06:43 AM   #4

Welcome to the forums. I also have a Pentax K-r and enjoy taking pictures of my kids. I find that the lens I like to use might vary depending on the situation and environment.