Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-28-2013, 09:03 AM   #1

A delayed introduction...

I actually joined here a few years ago when I purchased a K-r. At that time, I had planned on selling off all my Sony gear (A700 + lenses) and moving over to Pentax. However, I ran into issues with the K-r, returned it, and sold most of my Sony gear anyway. Money was tight, so I saw the failure of the K-r as a sign to hold onto my money for a bit. I got through 2011 by borrowing cameras from friends and then in 2012 I graduated with my environmental engineering degree, got a job, and could afford to get back into photography again. However, months before graduating, my long-time girlfriend left me high and dry. So, in the interest of healthy distractions, I decided to purchase a Sony a55 with their 18-250mm. The plan was to jump straight into the thing that used to make me happy- photography. However, between being less-than-enthused with the electronic viewfinder of the a55 and finding it difficult to stay motivated to do photography while battling depression, I had spent most of 2012 with both my a55 and nice lens practically unused.

However, 2012 is behind me, and in the progression of battling depression and moving on, I've started to become less apathetic toward photography again, day by day. On the good days, however, I still missed having a camera with a pentaprism viewfinder like on my old Sony A700. Even though my desire for photography was slowly returning, my desire to use the a55's EVF was not.