Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2013, 07:40 AM - 2 Likes   #1

Hello from Detroit Michigan USA (purchase decison factors)

Hello,

Like many others… I am new to both Pentax and the DSLR world. My move was prompted by several factors:
- Closing of yet another professional film processing lab that I had been using.
- A life situation that’s prevented me from practicing photography as I would prefer (for past 5 and at least next 5 years).
- Strong suggestion from my fiancée who was wise enough to recognize reality when I didn’t.

The acquisition of a DSLR means that I should be able to return back to a more hobby-like level of activity, which is something that I’ve felt I could not afford to enjoy for quite sometime. Since I was not previously invested in any particular AF lens or DSLR system I took a serious and educated look at all of the APS-C and Micro 4/3rds options and recognized that I should set the D7000 as the default baseline (2012.01). However as I continued to research and weigh my conclusion, I began to realize that my personal preference was increasing towards the Pentax.

My final decision to purchase Pentax and the K-5 early 2012 was based on these key characteristics:
1) Excellent dynamic range and image quality performance resulting from the custom chip tuning applied by Pentax.
2) Consistent reports of ease and pleasure in use due to a photography logical layout of functional controls and form factor.
3) Evidence suggesting more consistent accuracy in AF performance than the ‘faster’ competition.
4) Greater confidence in quality of weather sealing.
5) Images observed across the web.

Interestingly-