Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2008, 04:16 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Reborn Shooter

Greetings All,

Very nice to find a friendly, informative and Active forum of shutter bugs!

I pretty much have to classify myself as a total noob at this point. I'm coming back to photography after about 12 years of absence. I was a fairly avid hobbyist for about 10 years and definitely put some miles on my old K1000 but in the mid-90s I was burglarized and the bastards took my entire setup. I was broke at the time and equally stupid so had no insurance. They cleaned everything else out too, but the camera outfit devastated me. I didn't pick up an SLR for a long time afterwards.

But with a baby on the way here in a month and a new business venture brewing in the real estate industry I figured it was time to "get over it" and dive back in. So, UPS just dropped off a shiney new K10D kit about 2 hours or so and I'm just figuring out the menus and all the fun buttons - this bad boy is way different than my K1000

In that vein I'm looking at buying a book or two to reacquaint myself with the art of shooting with both hands and making the mental transition from film to digital. Scott Kelby's "The Digital Photography Book" vols 1&2 seem to be getting good reviews over at Amazon but am wondering what some of you folks here have read or written and recommend.

Hoping to pick up some pointers, make some new online friends and above all start enjoying shooting again!

03-03-2008, 07:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Welcome.

I havent read any books, but I hear some that people rave about....

The Magic Lantern Guide for the K10D
people usually say that this one is pretty good.

and
Understanding Exposure
I hear people talking about that one too

...dont know who wrote em. I dont read em. But I hear they are great.

....got a flash?
03-03-2008, 11:08 PM   #3
ixc
Inactive Account

Hi Venturi,