Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2013, 10:37 AM   #1

Hello ... border GB country

Hi all - just introducing myself - I'm based in the Forest of Dean in UK, that's Welsh border country. Wanting to get back into stills photography mainly landscapes I guess after some thirty years away from the stills world. I'm a filmmaker by trade and with all the technology changes in that area I found myself shooting my own footage and that has re-kindled my interest in capturing an atmosphere in images.... Now looking to pick up a pentax K-5 IIs hopefully fairly soon but SO MUCH HAS CHANGED since my day ....I used to use a rock solid 1970s Nikkormat shot Black and white, swore blind by Iford FP4 or HP5 and went everywhere with a red filter on a nice 28mm WA. ,,,sigh .......

Not even sure right now if I can get those results that I used to go for on a DSLR - is there a setting on the camera to dummy B&W or will I have to do it all 'in post' and in that case I guess its fiddling with contrast ratios to get that red filter effect !! Any words of wisdom appreciated

Best Tim

04-14-2013, 10:51 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forums

It is all fiddling the sliders now

Pl. have a look at Nik Collection - Silver Efex Pro 2

or Topaz B&W Effects - Stunning Black and White Conversion

Tutorials are available in those sites / you tube
04-14-2013, 11:10 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Dynamo Quote
Welcome to the forums

It is all fiddling the sliders now

Pl. have a look at Nik Collection - Silver Efex Pro 2

or Topaz B&W Effects - Stunning Black and White Conversion

Tutorials are available in those sites / you tube
Awwww... wow, thanks for the reply so quickly - think I've fallen in love with the look of that Silver Efex Pro 2 software - now I've really got to find a way to raise a few pennies and buy the camera ........and just get out there!

Inspired - Thanks
04-14-2013, 11:24 AM   #4