Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-18-2013, 09:38 AM   #1

I Said 'Kay to the K

Hi, there.

I am a complete noob to DSLR cameras. My P&S camera is a Panasonic DMC-LZ7, and it's okay for outdoor daylight shots but not much else. I've been impressed with the photos some of my friends have taken with their DSLRs, so I decided I'd like to try DSLR photography. For my birthday, my husband told me to shop for a camera, so I started researching.

I wasn't sure what I wanted, and I was overwhelmed with the choices. Mirrorless? What was that? After doing some research and wading through pages and pages of reviews, I narrowed it down to a Nikon 5200, a Canon T4i, or a Pentax K-30 in my price range. (The Olympus mirrorless that also interested me was out of my price range.) I really liked the sounds of the Pentax, but many sites advised going with Canon or Nikon for reasons you've all probably heard before. Then, I had a bright idea. I have used Air Miles before for merchandise (got our Weber bbq that way), so I thought I'd check to see if any of those cameras were available through Air Miles. If so, I would choose that one, as it would be essentially "free," and then I would have funds for accessories and maybe an additional lens.