Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2013, 11:40 AM   #1

Hello from Northern NJ

Hi from Edgewater, NJ. I am a professional photographer and photographic educator. I teach intermediate and advanced photography and digital printing at the Art School at Old Church in Demarest, New Jersey and I conduct two summer workshops, one in New Hampshire in July and one in midcoast Maine in August.

I switched from Nikon to Pentax in 1968 and used only Pentax, both 35mm and 6X7, for virtually my entire career as a commercial photographer. I still have many of those film cameras and lenses but don't use them any more. I shoot a lot of images that end up as very large lithographs so I moved to full frame digital cameras in 2003. Still waiting for Pentax to come out with theirs.

I counseled one of my students to buy a Pentax DSLR a couple of years ago for budget reasons - it was the most camera for the least amount of money. She upgraded to the K5 last year and I've watched her shoot with it here in New Jersey and when she took my New Hampshire workshop last year. I am *very* impressed with the camera and its capabilities and with her Pentax lenses, most especially the 100mm macro. I see a lot of different cameras being used by my students. Pentax still has the same unbeatable combination of value, innovation and construction that it did in 1968. Now where's that full frame camera????

04-20-2013, 11:43 AM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by HankNJ1 Quote
..............Now where's that full frame camera????
Oh, here we go..........................................

Welcome to the forum.
04-20-2013, 11:45 AM   #3

Original Poster
Did I just reopen a can of worms?
04-20-2013, 11:51 AM   #4
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by HankNJ1 Quote
Did I just reopen a can of worms?