Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-06-2013, 05:32 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Hello from SW Michigan!

Hello Everyone!

My name is Mike and I'm addicted to film! Yes, I have digital too! - a Sony A200, a Sony A300 and a little Nikon Coolpix 4600 P&S. For several years now I have been shooting color and black and white film and I have been doing my own developing. I scan my negatives using a Canon Pixma MG8120 All-in-One and use Paint Shop Pro Photo X3 for my digital post processing. My results are very pleasing to me, however I am a Hobbyist - not a Pro Photographer!

My film cameras have been mostly 35mm SLRs and mostly Minoltas. An XD-11, a X570 (The X-700s little but more capable brother), a XE- 5 and XE-7. a SRT-102, a SRT-202, a SRT-200, a XG-7, a Maxxum 700si, a 9xi and a Maxxum 9000. I have also owned Canons - a AL-1, a AE-1 Program, a EOS-650, a EOS A2 and a EOS Rebel Ti. There were also Konicas, a Autoreflex T4, a Auto S3 RF, a C35 RF and a S2 RF. There was a Mamiya NC-1000s SLR (a little jewel!) and a host of Yashica RFs. Oh, there are Polaroids, a 180 (custom Copal shutter), 2 360's(one stock and one with a Kodak Ektar 127mm lens in a Graphic Supermatic shutter), a 800 and some Spectras too! I listed these not to bore you but to give you an idea of my exposure to different camera platforms. It's funny though, I never cared to try the Nikons.

Most all have all been sold except for the Sony A200 and A300, Minolta 9xi and 9000 and the Polaroids. I have come here doing some research to determine if I want to try the Pentax platform as I feel the need to do something different. I liked the Minolta platform because I always felt that the marquee was under appreciated. When I turned to digital, I went with Sony because they supported the A mount and I had a number of Minolta legacy AF lenses but, I always wished that the digitals said Minolta on them instead of Sony.