Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2013, 07:36 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Considering Pentax

Hello, I am fairly new to DSLR photography. I am hoping to become a pentaxian, but have a few questions before I purchase. I had a 35mm Canon rebel back in the 90's but never really got into it because of film processing costs. About a year ago just prior to my son's graduation from high school I decided to ante up and get a good camera. I purchased a Canon T3i. Liked a lot of things about the camera and really got comfortable shooting in full manual but a few things bothered me, such as not as great as I hoped for low light high ISO shooting of events like concert choir, etc. Also the buffer in continuous mode was horrible when shooting RAW. Also the shutter sound was simply too dang loud.

I did a ton of research and keep coming back to a few Pentax cameras that I would really like to get some feedback on from those of you who own or have owned both. I should add that there are no Pentax dealers near where I live so I am relying on reviews and discussion to help me make my decision.

Before listing the cameras I would like to get some clarification on one thing. Some of the complaints about Pentax seems to be around focusing in low light, but then I'll read a review from a later post that seems to suggest issues have been resolved with a firmware update. When responding please keep in mind that I'd like to know how the cameras perform now, with the firmware updates.

So, the two primary camera's are the K-5 and the K-30. I do not care about video performance and I will not be using flash often. I will be doing more low light high ISO. With this in mind can you tell me:
Which camera takes better pics in the ISO 3200-6400 range? I'd be using the 55-300(?) lens the most in this situation.