Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2013, 10:46 AM   #1
Inactive Account

My Intro

My name is Jimmy and I love photography. I've been a musician for over 40 years and i could never find the time to develop my photo skills. Now I'm going to start from the beginning. Photography 101. I have a 1960's Honeywell Spotmatic with a super Takamar 1: 1.8 55 mm lens. I really love black & White. Kodak Tri-X 400 . I hope to learn from all of you. Any tips on the Sprotmatic will most welcome. Thank you, Jimmy.

06-02-2013, 11:09 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bonjour from France and welcome to PF ... nice intro and gear, checkout this forum - Pentax Film SLR Discussion - PentaxForums.com ... hope to see an image or two soon ... J
06-02-2013, 12:51 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome! Nice to see someone wanting to learn via a manual camera.
06-02-2013, 01:16 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Welcome Jimmy. My first SLR was also a Spotmatic (although it was an Asahi Pentax one) and probably had the same lens on it too. I bought it used in 1979 and it was/is a great camera. I also started out shooting B&W while I was going through the learning phase as it was far cheaper to process than colour in those days. I still have many of the lenses and attachments I bought for that camera and have used them on my later Spotmatic II and K1000 film SLRs and I plan to use them on a new K-30 DSLR once I can get my hands on one.

One of the big advantages you have over people starting out with a modern DSLR is that the camera is forcing you to learn how to take photographs manually, where the photographer has to make every single decision in terms of getting a shot. If you stick with it and develop your skill set then making the transition to a modern DSLR should be much easier although all those 'auto' features on new cameras seem far more confusing than doing things the 'old fashioned way' to me at times!

Larry