Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2013, 10:04 PM   #1

Hi all,

Recently retired after 35 years in dentistry. Although golf is the activity that is first on my list, I just can't do that 7 days a week. The bones and joints won't allow it. After some deliberation, I came to the conclusion that photography would be a good diversion. Very little stress on the problem areas: B & J's. I first got into photos in '67 when I was in Nam. A Topcon which I still have, but why film when I can do digital at no cost for film and developing At any rate,after reading and watching online reviews of Canon, Nikon and Pentax, I recently purchased a k5ll with an 18:135mm lens.
I really love the size of this camera and lens. It fits well with my paws....... In the future, hopefully, I will be loading some shots for your review and comments. Although I will appreciate any input, please be kind! Remember I am just getting into digital.

06-15-2013, 02:55 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum, I'm sure you'll pick up the ropes rather quickly so please enjoy your stay with us.
06-15-2013, 03:08 AM   #3
Inactive Account

I have my sights on that same lens so I hope it works well for you. Enjoy your hard earned retirement :-)
06-15-2013, 03:15 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
New Hobby

Hello Drgold, welcome to the Forum!
It's easy to be overwhelmed by the world of digital photography, but the basics of photography still apply. F/Stop, shutter speed and ISO remain the cornerstones to taking good photos. An eye for interesting moments and the timing to capture them is still a valuable asset.
I'd suggest you look around for a camera club or photo group in your area. Meeting and comparing notes with like-minded folks is very rewarding and helpful.