Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Greetings from South Africa

I got into DSLR photography about two years ago, when I took over my father's Pentax *ist DL camera, together with a 18-55 kit lens, an old 35-80 lens and a 100-300 zoom lens.

Since then I've been largely self-taught, buying numerous ebooks (starting with Bryan Petersen's excellent book "Understanding Exposure").

About a year and a half ago I started my photo blog, http://nevillespicoftheday.wordpress.com, and I have had a blast.

In the past year I bought myself a second hand 170-500 Sigma lens.

I will soon be in a position to buy a more modern DSLR and I am seriously considering getting the Pentax K-5 II, together with the 18-135 WR lens. From the reviews I've read, I should not be disappointed and hopefully I will see quite a positive jump from my old *ist DL.

I will be ordering it online from Adorama, as the local prices are about 25% more expensive.

Glad to be part of this community and hope to share and contribute in the near future!

06-27-2013, 08:55 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Welcome to the forum, good to have you on board.
06-27-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Hi Neville

Welcome!

The K-5/K-5 II/IIs are excellent cameras. If you can wait, prices should decrease once the expected K-5 II replacement is announced later this year. Keep an eye on the Pentax Price Watch forum here for special pricing from Adorama, B&H and elsewhere, particularly on "Black Friday", which is the start of the US Christmas season (29 November this year). The Pentax Marketplace forum here is also a very good place to look for used equipment at good prices.

Gray
06-27-2013, 09:20 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Thanks for the tips, Gray!

I see that you are a fellow South African - you are so fortunate to live in Cape Town, as there is no shortage of photographic opportunities there.

06-28-2013, 03:19 AM   #5