Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2013, 02:02 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
New member - old man

Hi - I am Jon, from Denmark.

Drummer, biker, outdoor-type, do-it-yourself-type, let-the-other-ones-do-it-type - and amateur photographer for more than 35 years.

Started with borrowing my Dads 6x6 Agfa Isolette - and soon after bought my first SLR, the usual Zenith E. After a couple of years spent partly in the cupboard, trying to persuade rollfilm into used Tri-X cartridges, I graduated to a Chinon Memotron with a couple of lenses besides the 55 mm - and made diasshows.

The camera was put away for some years, my girlfriends Olympus Trip35 took over the task of documenting our trips into the wilderness - until we on a trip to Thailand and Malaysia got to Singapore. There, I bought a Pentax K1000 with a 50 mm - I had at the time developed a nostalgic liking for anything altmodisch. Back home in Denmark, over the next couple of years I bought a 28 and a 105 - and a Tamron 350 mirror tele.

This kit served me for the next 15 years or so - until the shutter started to play up on Cuba, ruining quite a few nice slides. You donīt see it before you get home.....

Back home, I decided to go digital - the PC had already taken over as tape recorder for my band. The lenses I had was brillant, so Pentax it had to be. Since 2006, I have been the owner of a *ist dl, and as my pictures are seen on screen only for 99% of the time, that has worked fine. I am so much used to manual handling, and now I have had the possibility to check instantly for lighting or focus problems. Nice.

I still think as if I had film in the camera - so I havenīt yet taken 10.000 pictures with it - the thought of coming home from a weeklong holiday with say 3.000 pictures to look through doesnīt appeal to me, so I tend to only press the button when I feel convinced I have a motive....