Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2013, 05:22 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Hello all out there

Hello,
I'm very new to Pentax and only a tiny bit older and wiser with DSLRs in general.
Just over a year ago now I got quite serious about photography after a few years of digital compact cameras. I bought a bridge camera first (Fuji HS20) but soon realised I was hooked and needed to go the whole hog. The Fuji was excellent by the way, but I couldn't whole-heartedly recommend bridge cameras, you gain nothing in size and there are compacts with Tv, Av, P & M modes now. Going DSLR brings the bigger sensor, the option to change lenses and speed and precision. The only downside is the yearning to spend yet more money on lenses and other kit!
I had the usual dilemma at the beginning that I'm sure everyone else has gone through, which manufacturer to go with. I quickly narrowed it down to Nikon and Pentax. Looking back, it was a close run thing, the Nikon has a bigger range of extras, the Pentaxes are weather sealed, the Nikons process JPEGS to my liking (when reading about them - I had not tried either remember), the Pentaxes have more high end features on cameras than a comparable offering from elsewhere. The decision was tipped by knowing a couple of people who owned Nikons and, believe it or not, looking at lens ratings in the back of magazines and noticing that Nikon rate higher than any other on average!
I've had some great times with my D5100 but there have been a few occasions when I've run for cover at the first hint of rain/snow/dust etc. At times like that I've thought back to my decision and remember well saying to my Nikon owning friends, 'surely all cameras should be weather sealed as a matter of routine!'.