Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-23-2013, 07:37 AM   #1

Greetings from filmmaker in Chicago!!

My name is Grace and I'm a filmmaker! I've been using my fabulous Pentax lenses on my Canon 7D. I joined this forum to learn more about these fully manual film lenses and to post about my experiences using them on my DSLR to shoot film. I'd love to hear from more users! Does anyone else use SMC-M lenses on their digital camera? Has anyone shot films with this kind of set up?

There are many mods one can do to their lens that would help on a DSLR, but make the lens unusable on the Pentax-M camera it came with. Has anyone performed any of these mods and how did it it turn out?

Best,

Grace

07-23-2013, 08:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bonjour from France and welcome to PF ... I have a lot of manual legacy glass, but do not that much video/film ... I think that there are some threads here about lens mods, etc. ... good luck, J
07-23-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Welcome to PF. Half my lenses are SMC-M lenses. they share time on both my DSLR's and my film cameras. I don't shoot video tho
07-24-2013, 08:12 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Hello from a fellow Chicagolander, Grace.

I don't have many M lenses, but have been very impressed even with the standard old "Cheap" kit M-50 f2 lens. If you get exposure right, the lens is almost macro in resolution and the colors are just...right.

07-24-2013, 08:30 AM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by gpisula Quote
There are many mods one can do to their lens that would help on a DSLR, but make the lens unusable on the Pentax-M camera it came with. Has anyone performed any of these mods and how did it it turn out?

Best,

Grace
Generally, Pentaxians keep their lenses as manufactured because there is a limited amount of lenses compared to Canikony.