Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2013, 07:44 PM   #1

Greetings

Hi,

I am Kristjan, i have been using pentax K200D since 2008 and just last month i regrettably lost it on a trip to France and it seems, it is not finding a way back to me. While searching for a new camera i discovered this forum. I really liked my camera but buying the same one seems little pointless. Over these years I have become very fond of pentax so naturally I would like to have a new pentax camera.

What I really liked about my K200D, was that it was really rugged, weather sealed and you could use AA batterys / accus witch saved me many times. What I did not like so much was that it was heavy and bulky (not too comfortable to take it causally with you), the performance over 400 iso was not so good and white balance tended to be towards red.

So my plan for a new camera is to buy Pentax k-01, it has the same sensor as all the new/er pentax cameras. It is not weather sealed, which I would really like but probably can live without.

What I like about it, is that I can buy a set of small fix lenses for casual use and If I want go shooting I can have some bigger lenses + I have always wanted to make some videos.

I did not plan to write so long, I just planned to ask about some things on the B/S lists, but because I can’t before certain amount of posts. So meanwhile I will just ask for your feedback on my idea.

Originally i planned to go with K500, but it also has no weather sealing, the body costs a lot more than K-01 body, and when I would want weather sealing with the same sensor I would have to look at K-30 or K-50 which are already too expensive for me. So by buying K01 I will get me same power for less and more is left for lenses.

Open for better ideas,

Kristjan

08-08-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery