Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2008, 05:04 AM   #1

Greetings from Ottawa, Canada

Hi there, friends!

I'm Michael from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. Actually I'm new to Pentax, new to (D)SLR and new to Canada. Originally I come from Belarus, eastern Europe. I'm a computer programmer, a FOSS/Linux fan.

Before going into DSLR I used to play a lot with ultra-zooms, tripods and techniques... kinda was playing "real photography". Well, I ended up having good family member portraits, above averga group shots, a couple of mediocre macros, several poor panoramas and ... that's it. I felt I need DSLR: external bounce flash, 12 bit raw for processing, good sensitivity and dynamic range etc. After doing my homework and looking for the best value for my hard-earned buck I came to Pentax. My K10D kit and 50/1.4 are on their way.

Being a Linux guy, I plan to develop raw, edit and store photos solely in Linux with the free tools available. If anyone is also a Linux fan and/or lives in Ottawa region we might have a lot in common -- please contact me!

Cheers,
Michael.

03-23-2008, 01:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum.

You're gonna like to be here
03-23-2008, 10:21 PM   #3

Welcome to the party Michael !!!

Myself as well is from Ottawa as you can tell by the name! I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay here! I do not know anything in regards to linux aside that it is an OS, but I do however shoot with the K10D's !!!!

ciao for now,

Tim
03-24-2008, 05:26 AM   #4
tdb

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by OttawaPhotog Quote
Welcome to the party Michael !!!

Myself as well is from Ottawa as you can tell by the name! I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay here! I do not know anything in regards to linux aside that it is an OS, but I do however shoot with the K10D's !!!!

ciao for now,

Tim