Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-26-2013, 10:54 AM   #1

Vince from Central MA with a K-30

Hi there, so I have been a point and shoot guy all my life up until now. i started to want to get into photography a bit. Not to make money but just for fun as a hobby. I researched and ended up buying a K-30 with a 18-55 WR lens. I am still new and learning what aperature, shutter speed, ISO is, etc.

I picked the K-30 over the T3i and T4i based on the reviews. So far I am happy with it but I find that because I am a novice at this I am intimidated by the camera and what it can do.

Any recommendations to how/where/what I can do to? I would like to be able to learn and practice until I master this thing. Anyone from the central MA area?

Vince

08-26-2013, 11:21 AM   #2

1. Enjoy the amazing weather sealing of the camera!!!! It is truly great.
2. I went in the menu and searched every single option in the camera on the forum/google to know its functionality, and I am happy i did so.
3. Remember when shooting in Raw and Raw+ some in camera processing become unavailable, but shooting raw opens a lot more doors to post process on the computer.
4. practice, practice, practice! Have fun and Enjoy the great camera.

5- Lenses you might wanna consider : M50 F1.7 (50-60$) its a manual lens and truly amazing one at that, its a lot of fun to play with a iconic manual prime from pentax
also a 55-300 DA (the DA-L version feels cheap imo) the DA is about 280-330$ used on the forums or on KEH.com.... totally worth it and you'd have a good zoom range covered.
then remains the Ultra Wide Angle if youre into those....

6- Have a good time experimenting, i found that part to be my biggest and still is my biggest fun with the K-5.
08-26-2013, 11:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by hondaguy28 Quote