Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2013, 07:09 PM   #1

Hey what's up guys, I'll be quite honest I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm a film student and I don't know much about actual cameras, I'm good with the other aspects of film. Anyway, I just bought a Pentax Kx because I read that it's a great camera to start off with and it's great for upcoming film students. I bought it with a 50mm-200mm lens, and I don't know much about it other then the length and all. If anyone could explain basics to me that would be great because I'm eager to learn about this all, especially all the notches on my camera; I'm learning them to an extent but nothing concrete. Also, does anyone have a smaller lens I can buy for cheap? I need to be upclose to film some stuff and the lens seems a little long to do that, I'd have to stand back to do this.

10-22-2013, 11:54 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to PF and bonjour from France ... enjoy the forum and please do not be shy about asking questions ... post us an image or two soon ... Salut, J
10-23-2013, 12:12 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Starters?

Hello RJDobbins, Welcome to the Forum!
For a shorter focal-length lens, probably your best bet would be the kit zoom, an 18-55mm. This is a wide angle-to-short telephoto zoom, and it will match up nicely with the telephoto zoom, giving you an effective 18mm to 200mm range with two lenses.
It's been made in three versions; First, the DA-L 18-55, this version had some sharpness issues that were addressed with the second version, the DA 18-55mm II. Last, Pentax released the 18-55mm II WR. This is version II with 'Weather Resistant' seals added. That is the best version. You can find the II and II WR used for around $100-$150 used (US Dollars), if you look at the Marketplace here or eBay,