Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2013, 04:27 AM   #1

Hey there from NL

Hello there!

I'm new to this forum and I'm a proud owner of a Pentax K-x.

I'm very new to photography and before I had this penax I got a Nikon D60. It was a fun camera to learn and experiment with but ofcourse I wanted something better. Looking whether I should go Nikon or Canon I found out about Pentax. I tried it and loved it. They are great.
Browsing our secondhand market I got a used Pentax K-x to get used to Pentax. So far I really like it and it's a nice upgrade from my D60 to satisfy me untill I can buy the K-3.

I got the body with:
Sigma 55-200 1:4-5.6
Pentax-FA 1:3.5-5.6 28-80mm.
A uv filter
Some flash I probably never really use.

That for 200 euros. Was it a good deal in your eyes? The more proffesional opinions?
It doesn't matter if it isn't, I'm just curious. In my eyes it's very good since I have alot more range, low light performance and most of all stabilisation in the body. I even managed 1/4s sharp shot out of my hands.

Downsides compared to the D60 is the battery and the battery life. It uses AA... The screen is also much harder to see in light and less sharp. But the gain of Live View makes up for it.

Greetings from a Pentax newbie.

10-29-2013, 06:11 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum!
10-30-2013, 02:29 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
What's A Deal?

Hello HolyCheese, Welcome to the Forum!
I'd say you got a pretty good deal...my online converter indicates 200 Euro is about $285-$300 USD.
A used K-x goes for about $200-$300, so you nearly got your investment back on the body alone. Of course, the price of a DSLR body greatly depends on the condition and number of actuations.
The Sigma lens came in a couple of versions, check the lens reviews (3rd party lenses) for the exact model and (general) price range.