Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2013, 11:58 AM   #1

Hello from Ontario Canada (Story and Need for 35mm Help Inside!)

Hey everyone,

I'm a 19 year old student from Ottawa Ontario. I've been reading posts on this forum for a while. Particularly when I thought I was going to purchase a Pentax DSLR body. However, now my time has come to shoot Pentax and I decided to join.

I have a family history with Pentax. My dad always shot with Pentax film cameras, he was definitely a Pentaxian and might have even been on these forums. He had a K1000 with numerous lenses. When he passed I decided I wanted to get into photography. Unfortunately, I sold his kit to fund a Nikon D90 purchase. Some of the stuff got slightly damaged because I shipped it in the midst of a Canadian winter (I guess it was a sign). I definitely regret selling the kit but there is no going back. I was aware of the option to buy a Pentax DSLR body and use his lenses but for some reason I didn't want to do it.

Anyways, I really enjoyed my camera but as a student the time came where I had to sell it to put money towards other things. I was a frequent poster on another photography forum but I quit posting when I couldn't shoot anymore.

I've come to my senses and realized that I want to shoot with Pentax cameras like my father. I got a lucky break earlier this week, a family member was moving and I inherited a Pentax LX with a Pentax 50mm 1:1.2. I think its the last piece of my fathers Pentax collection.

I attached some pictures below of the camera. I apologize for the dark night pictures of the camera. I just need help with identifying the camera better and getting it back in working order. I know I need to give it a good cleaning (it's very dusty), check the batteries, and get some film for it. I'm just aching to get out and take some shots but I've been quite busy.