Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2013, 09:21 PM   #1

Bonjour from Michigan!

Hi,

I am fairly new to DSLRs, but I am looking into purchasing a Pentax K-5 IIs in the near future ; I have tried both Canon and Nikon and neither have impressed me. However, I cannot see spending the increased price of the K3 for my first DSLR. If you have any convincing arguments either way please let me know, because I would love to get some advice from current Pentaxians. So far my friends and family seem to like my pictures, even if they are taken with my wanna-be DSLR Kodak and I have been researching this for many months, so I think I am heading in the right direction. Besides I don't know how much longer I can wait!

Kind Regards,

NL

11-03-2013, 07:22 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum! I'm also new here and to dslr's. And I had one if those Kodaks (z981). Took some great pictures with it. But, I grew out of it, like you probably did. I wanted a Pentax dslr, but couldn't afford it yet, so I bought a Caonon sx260 last year because of it's claims to be better in low light. It's a good P&S, but it didn't live up to the claims, and I had slightly less control than with my Kodak. A few weeks ago I got a KX. I gave my Kodak to my husband and the Canon is my purse camera. I have been researching Pentax cameras for a couple of years. I may not have enough user experience to comment, but I think you will be very happy with the K-5 IIs. If I had the money, I would go for either that one, or the K50. It's a huge upgrade from where we came! I'm even tickled pink with my KX. 😊 Sorry to be long-winded. Good luck in your decision!
11-03-2013, 05:31 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums