Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2013, 11:16 PM   #1

No Camera yet. Set on a K-50 though

Greetings!

Newbie here. I have no camera as of yet, DSLR anyway. I've been researching for the last couple months, wanting to purchase a DSLR for my wife (me) because she (I) want(s) to take better, more creative photos of our two boys. This forum/website has been invaluable in compiling information on all makes of DSLRs, let alone Pentax. Thanks for that!

Long story short, I narrowed it down to Pentax K-50 18-135mm kit, Nikon D5200 18-105mm kit and a Canon Rebel T4i 18-135mm kit. I am coming in at entry level experience and knowledge, but I want something that will allow me to grow a little beyond entry level equipment (T3/T3i, D3100/3200). I think the D5200 and the K-50 both fit that bill. I would regrettably own the Canon right now as B&H had refurb 18-135mm kits available for $650! I waited to long and they ran out. I had the credit card in my hand, ready to buy. I'm not upset. What pushed me to the K-50 over the D5200 was two things. Weather sealing and better, cheaper lens availability. I live in AZ and its dusty. We go to San Diego a lot and it's sandy. We go to Flagstaff often and it's snowy. I don't want to have to put my camera away whenever things get dirty. I like that I can use any K-mount lens, regardless of age, on a K-50. I've found some very decent F/FA series lenses can be had at really good prices. If she (I) decide(s) for some reason that photography just isn't for her (me), I won't have spent a ton of cash getting started.

Pentax, here I come!! As soon as I find a decent price on a K-50 18-135mm kit, I'll pull the trigger. I am hoping Black Friday/Cyber Monday will turn out a smoking price. I'll post when I've taken the plunge. Thanks again.

Ryan H.

11-09-2013, 11:38 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Smokinthunder1 Quote
Greetings!