Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2013, 09:51 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
SLR to DSLR!

Hi, I have just found out about you guys and joined up. I am a Spanish teacher who loves to take photos. I have used ones I took in Mexico in my classes to teach about the culture of Mexico. My husband taught me a great deal about composition--he was an artist as well as a professor. I learned on the Pentax K1000 which I dearly loved using. When I changed to DSLR, I chose the IST Dl and the K100D Super because they have a pop up flash (and because I could use my older SLR lenses with them!)--I like using the the flash using with hot shoe--but they are a bit of a bother when you are clambering all over exploring places be it in Hawaii, Bonaire, Mexico, or North Carolina. I need to upgrade the memory card from only using SD to SDHC cards. Any and all advice on that is welcome! I am also a singer/composer who plays several instruments so I have plenty to keep me occupied. My 9 inside cats help in that regard too!
67*Lisbet

11-16-2013, 10:00 PM   #2
What'chu lookin at

Photos: Gallery
Hello, and welcome from Vancouver Island! I too made the plunge from film to digital just a few months ago, still got my work cut out for me. I've learned some good stuff here, from just browsing the forum and participating in the monthly single lens challenge. Enjoy your stay!
11-16-2013, 10:09 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the board!

If I remember correctly (and I'm not sure that I do) but I think that the ist D used CF cards, not SD. On the K100D as long as you are using the latest firmware in your camera you should be able to use SDHC cards without a problem.
11-16-2013, 10:14 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Odinz Quote
Welcome to the board!