Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2013, 03:27 AM   #1

G'day all

Hey fellas,

Brendan here from Tasmania, Australia, just nabbed a K100D a couple of days ago, also have a Nikon D7000, been into photography for a few years now, got the D7000 (shared with brother and sister) a few months after they were released.
I'm the primary user of the D7000, mainly shooting things of interest, racing (from RC racing to full size cars and buggies ect...), some land scape and just random things, I prefer spontaneous situations and objects, seems more real and I just prefer the result.

For the D7000 (came with 18-55 and 55-300) I have bought an SB600, Tokina 11-16 f/2.8, a couple of older Nikon lenses and a few filters, have probably racked up 50k-60k shots by myself, a lot of learning in there, pretty much all self taught, at a point now where I have an idea on what I need and can get things in the ball park pretty quick.

I got the K100D because of the filters that came with it mainly but the body and lenses were a bonus, was told the body didnt work, previous owner accidently put in 2 charged and 2 uncharged batteries, which leaked acid.
But I just cleaned it up a bit and popped in a couple of fresh ones and away she went.
Probably took more time trying to find a non SDHC card.

The lenses I got with it were a Sigma 18-125 1:3.5-5.6 DC and a Sigma 70-300 1:4-5.6 DG with Macro to 1:2.
Filters were 1x CP, 1x Warm and 2x UV.
Thought I got a cracka of a deal, only paid $120.

To make a long post even longer, I also had a look at dads old camera gear, found a Chinar 80-100 1:4.5 Macro, took a while to figure out how to get it to work on the body, got it in the end.
Unfortunately an element is all hazy, but oddly enough I kinda liked the result still.
Can't figure out how to adjust the aperture though, always wide open.

Theres a few other lenses but all screw mount, will grab a converter soon and see what they are like.