Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
12-06-2013, 08:43 PM   #16

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by BretW Quote
Welcome! I'm new here too.

I find what you have conveyed is powerful. I have no memory issues myself, but I resonate with your story at many levels, even with respect to memory. A picture can add dimension to memory--if you have the technical ability to figure out the puzzles involved. And the puzzles are often fun ones.

I'm also a biologist (though not an entomologist. I'm a theoretical evolutionary biologist with a passion for tropical rain forest), and I just last week moved from Canon to a K3 18-135, AF-360FGZ Flash and am going to pick up the 100 Marco WR next. Just like you, Weather sealing was a/the decisive factor, though now having shot the K3, I'm discovering the many other charms of the Pentax worldview, and the K3 in particular. Even the 18-135 WR is a surprisingly charming little lens, if you recognise its limits.

My intro was here:

Why I left Canon for a K3

with the meat of my story at post #14. But more interesting than what I wrote were the excellent replies I got from seasoned Pentaxians. Probably worth a look.

I also found this other interesting site through the Pentax forums:

Extreme Macro

That one has me thinking about reversing old enlarger lenses and things. Didn't know that the parts existed to make that so easy, nor that it would be a good thing to do. But now I do.

What is your specialty in entomology?
That's exactly it! It's a puzzle. They can be as simple as the direction of someone's stare, and that can invoke the images of what they were watching at the time, and how that made them feel. It's so much to be conveyed that makes it a thing of beauty and very powerful.