Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2013, 07:51 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Hello. Advice please.

Hello, I am new to the forum. I'm in the market for a dslr camera and I'm having trouble making a decision. I'm an amateur. I took a college photography course 23 years ago but haven't put what I learned to practice very often so have forgotten a lot of it. I have the following Pentax 35mm cameras and lenses from 20+ years ago.

Pentax ME camera
Samigon MC Auto Zoom 1:3.5 f= 3.5-105mm lens
SMC Pentax-M 1:2 50mm lens

Pentax SF10
Pentax SMC Pentax-F 1:1.7 50mm
Pentax SMC Pentax-F Zoom 1:4-5.6 70-210mm

My first digital camera was a sony (non interchangeable lens) that is abut 5.8 megapixels with a carl zeiss lens. It is obviously an older camera but still takes good pictures as long as you don't exceed the limited optical zoom and the subject will hold still long enough for the camera to turn on, focus & process the image. It is slow. Not at all good for sports photography.

My son is in high school and plays soccer on a travel team and in high school. I want something that will take great sport shots and also do high quality video. I also want to be able to use the camera creatively, take nature shots and the standard family activities. I've been reading some of the reviews and have been considering the K-3 although none of the stores here, I live in Indiana, have it in stock so I can try it out.

I was also considering the Nikon D5300 (I realize this is probably a step down from the K-3) or the D7100. Based on some of the threads on this forum I maybe also need to consider the K-5 ii.