Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-18-2013, 07:39 AM   #1

Greeting and Salutations

Good day to you all.

My name is Robert and I am a photoholic.

I recently switched to the Pentax brand after shooting with Olympus Micro Four Thirds gear for the past couple of years. I have been an avid photographer since 1988 after purchasing an Olympus OM10. I have owned Nikons and Canons and my recent purchase of a Pentax MX-1 was my first introduction to the world of Pentax.

The MX-1 has blown me away and the retro design was one of the many features that pushed me in the direction of the MX-1. The IQ is amazing even in low light.

I have been mostly happy with the M4/3 system, but I have been wanting to go back to an SLR body since that was my first love after buying the OM10. A good friend of mine that also shoots with Olympus M4/3 cameras used to own a Pentax K-5 and was always saying how much he liked it.

So, after doing much research and looking at Nikon, Canon and Sony I decided on a K-50 since it offers one thing all of the others in this price range don't offer - full weather sealing. My K-50 is scheduled to be delivered today and I can't wait to get my hands on it. I bought a two lens kit from B&H for $649.00. It has the DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AL WR and DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED WR lenses. I will also be adding a SMC PENTAX- FA 50 mm 1.7 lens as soon as I finish selling my Olympus gear.

So, that's my brief introduction. I am looking forward to many years with my Pentax cameras.

12-18-2013, 08:59 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Looks like you're on the right path. The K-50's a good choice. Remember the marketplace here for used lenses and other gear.

I've been intrigued by the 4/3 format but decided to get a Pentax Q for the bantam weight camera, with an older Olympus rugged compact for other uses (it's pretty nice).
12-18-2013, 09:37 AM   #3

Original Poster