Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-21-2013, 12:02 AM   #1

Who needs Nikon or Canon!

Hi all my new found friends......Worldwide!

I studied Interior Design in Durban, South Africa between 1979 and 1981. The course included Photography. My lecturer was the famous Obie Oberholzer. (Google him!).
We were required to purchase a film era SLR to complete the three year course.Most other students pitched with full Aperture & shutter speed priority OM 10's & equivalent Nikon,Canon,Pentax & Minolta.

My Dad was tight on the bucks, having to put two sons through collage. Obie advised me to ''go buy the Ricoh KR 5!'' (The cheapest SLR in SA at the time).
In his words,....."the other students will kick your butt for the first six months, but being forced to do everything manually, you will learn the relationship between aperture & shutter speed & the affect these have on exposure, depth of field & so on, MUCH FASTER, & more intimately than anyone else.Needless to say, I started at the bottom of the class in marks & finished the three years at the top.

I moved on to numerous Pentax SLR'S & have collected numerous Pentax, Ricoh & Takumar lenses, however Obbie has spoilt me for life, I CANNOT work with modern day auto focus lenses made in Vietnam or China.......horrible plastic,light weight & with horrible grinding focus mechanisms. Don't believe me?.....stick an old SMC manual focus ALL metal & Baker-light lens on your Pentax.......you will never be the same!