Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2013, 06:55 AM   #1

Greetings!

Hello, Everyone.

I began taking pictures when I was 13 years old with a Canon AE-1 Program that I purchased at a pawn shop for $150.00. It came with a Canon FD 50 1:1.8 and a 70-210 Quantaray zoom. I never really used the zoom; I put that prime lens on and shot away!

in the early 2000s, I was a poor college student and couldn't afford to pay for college and photography. I left the Canon in its case except for special occasions and kept an eye on the progress of digital. I wasn't convinced that it was going to be better than film, but I knew this: the increasing price of film made it difficult to shoot a lot.

I got married in 2007 and went to seminary. My wife and I set about paying off student loans and she worked while I went to school. We paid off our loans in 2011 and also had our first child, a daughter. I graduated in 2012 and our little girl began walking - and moving too fast for our point and shoot!

This year, we had another child and we certainly couldn't keep up with a toddler and an infant with our point and shoot. We decided to make the move to a digital SLR. Since I had an extensive history with a film SLR, I wanted something that would give me a lot of control over my picture taking and my wife wanted "green mode!"