Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2013, 03:29 PM   #1

Hello world! From Almada, Portugal.

Hi Gents,

My name is Saulo, a 26 years old economics guy that lives in Portugal. I've decided to join this forum even though I do not own any pentax gear. So, why did I join you? Because I was googling for vintage prime lenses, and Super Takumars came across. And then I really, really liked the spirit of this community.

As a matter of fact, I am fairly new to photography. I bought my first DSLR 6 months ago, a Nikon d3100 body and a 35mm 1.8. I have been, however, a Photoshop/GIMP user for almost a decade.

I am planning to exchange my d3100 for a higher-end model, and have put into the equation the possibility of a brand changing, as I do not own any other lens but the 35mm. Canon is not even a possibility, as I prefer simpler menus. I am looking to the d7000 equivalent, the K-5 (am I right?).

I do know a couple of things about the Pentax's History in the photographic/filming world. In fact, when I bought the d3100 I even considered the Pentax alternative, but the easier way to find Nikon lenses has driven my head to Nikon (I bought it from an UK used gear dealer that unfortunately do not sell Pentax gear.

So, I would be delighted if you could tell me why should I go for Pentax over Nikon and where can I find second hand Pentax Gear preferably in Europe, due to customs. My plan is to upgrade my body, get a 50 (or equivalent) mm prime lens, and then a 70/80-200 2.8 (or equivalent).

Well, I should say that the fact that every Pentax has a vibration reduction system on it is really tempting me.

Cheers from Portugal, and a Happy New Year!

12-29-2013, 01:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum and thank you for that interesting introduction.
12-29-2013, 01:32 PM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter