Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-03-2014, 10:00 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Planning on a Pentax

Hi. I am planning to purchase a Pentax and am now in the research stage of this process. I am not new to photography, in that I have owned many cameras, pre-digital era, with a variety of lenses, and have developed pictures in dark rooms, and hung them to dry. Ahh the olden days... but that was long ago and things have changed, and I have been ready to embrace the digital age for years now. Only, my pocket book kept me in the dark ages. I have never owned a DSLR. I have used a point and shoot. But, we all know that is like driving a scooter in loo of a Cadillac. The point is, I am ready to purchase a DSLR and although I am a technical novice, I am not new to the practice of taking pictures. My creativity has been hampered by lack of proper tools, but now I am ready to invest in a Pentax DSLR.

I am trying to decide between the k-3 and the k-50. Leaning towards the k-3.

What I don't know much about is lenses.

Both camera kits offer the 18-135mm, 18-55mm and/or 50-200mm lenses in their bundles.

Any advice? I like nature photography, landscape, low and natural light, and macro. I have a special love of macro.

Thank you, nice to meet you, and I look forward to some input.

01-03-2014, 10:04 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by EdithCosmos Quote