Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2014, 06:22 PM - 3 Likes   #1

Lifelong Nikon DX user here, oh-so-tempted by the K-3!! Help me!!

Hi there folks! I'm Matthew Saville. I suppose that is obvious by my username though.

I am new to Pentax, in fact I have yet to even purchase one. However I review DSLR cameras for SLR Lounge, so I've at least handled pretty much everything under the sun. I know both Nikon and Canon like the back of my hand, and usually I prefer Nikon for their controls and their overall philosophy and track record of delivering what photographers want most. (D700, D800, affordable pro-grade primes, continued backwards compatibility with the entire history of lenses, etc.)

However lately I have been falling out of love due to the fact that Nikon has clearly given up all hope of serving the pro DX crop-sensor market. My D300 was a killer camera in its time and the D300s was a good step in the right direction, but who knows if we'll see a D400 and even if we do, Nikon hasn't made a pro DX lens since their first three that they made like what, a decade ago?

But I digress. The Pentax K-3 has definitely caught my attention. Especially given my new found interest in astro landscape photography, and adventure photography in general.

So, with this introduction, I have a few questions that I hope some people who already have a lot of experience with Pentax, specifically the K-3, can answer. Here goes nothing!

1.) One thing I love about Nikon is that many of their cameras allow choices for RAW bitrate and compression. So for night timelapses for example I can chose 12-bit RAW with lossy compression, and save nearly 50% on card space. Does Pentax have anything similar to this? From what I can tell, the answer is NO, however I'm still wondering if anybody knows the average file size of the K-3 for example, and if the DNG format offers any options or if it is the same as the PEF (?) format.