Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2014, 06:09 PM   #1

Hello from Pittsburgh (and Kent)

Hello,

I am a college student studying Architecture at Kent State University in Ohio, (site of Crosby Stills Nash & Young 'Ohio') I got into photography when I came to school, at first because we were "required" to take pictures for... inspiration? and later on just for fun.

Anyway, after promptly buying a cheap point-and-shoot during the first week of classes because I had nothing else, I quickly realized the limitations of the camera: no way to directly choose a point of focus, no changing depth of field... I'm sure you all know.

I started borrowing my buddy's entry-level Nikon DSLR (A LOT) last semester, and liked shooting with it. However, his had some annoying design flaws, and I set out to find a better option.

After a million hours looking at reviews and such on the internet and asking around, I almost bought a Nikon D7000. Something about Pentax drew my attention though, and I picked up the K-5 ii with the 18-55mm WR lens. I couldn't be happier with it!

What I didn't realize at the time of purchase was that older lenses worked on the new bodies. A few weeks ago I bought an old Asahi ME with a Pentax 50mm 1.7 lens and a JC Penny 80-200mm lens all for $30 bucks. It's all in really good condition; it was the lady's grandfather's camera, he had old-school Vivitar filters on the lenses, and it came with a flash that still works on my camera! Talk about backwards compatibility - I think I got a good deal!